Tags

, ,

It’s my own fault. I can’t complain that nobody’s looked at my blog for a week if I haven’t posted anything. It’s been looking like a Zen garden, my blog: a dry landscape with some carefully pruned outcrops of something that could be wood or rock.

This is the Karesansui garden in Ryōan-ji Temple. I love the garden outside the garden, too.

In the garden book Sakuteiki ‘Creating a garden’ is expressed as “setting stones”, ishi wo taten koto; literally, the “act of setting stones upright.” It sounds an awful lot like making poetry:

Make sure that all the stones, right down to the front of the arrangement, are placed with their best sides showing. If a stone has an ugly-looking top you should place it so as to give prominence to its side. Even if this means it has to lean at a considerable angle, no one will notice. There should always be more horizontal than vertical stones. If there are “running away” stones there must be “chasing” stones. If there are “leaning” stones, there must be “supporting” stones.

